Class of 2008

Clint Corey - Athlete

Clint Corey was consistently ranked among the world's best bareback riders in the history of professional rodeo. During his 20 year riding career, Corey won numerous championships and was a 2004 inductee to the Pro Rodeo Hall of Fame. He was the world runner-up four times, in 1985, 1986, 1990 and 1995, and has finished in the top five in the world standings an amazing 14 times. Corey earned just shy of two million dollars in his illustrious career.

Clint Corey, known as one of the most cordial cowboys in ProRodeo, produced one of the most consistent careers in the history of ProRodeo. His success led him to bigger stages in places like Las Vegas, Dallas and Calgary. Corey qualified for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo 18 times, (just one shy of the record held by fellow Hall of Famer Bruce Ford) including 17 straight from 1985 through 2001.  In 1989, 1991 and 1997, he won the bareback riding title in the Dodge National Circuit Finals Rodeo making him the only roughstock cowboy in event history to have claimed three titles. In 1991, he won the World bareback riding title. In 2001, at the age of 40, he won the Wrangler NFR bareback riding aggregate title.

Besides his dominance in the world standings, Corey, a native of Washington state, "cut his teeth" at arenas around the state. Throughout his professional career Clint continued to return to area rodeos in the Northwest. He claimed the Columbia River Circuit year-end title 12 consecutive times between 1989 and 2000.  He also claimed the Circuit Finals Rodeo's bareback riding aggregate championship 11 times. Corey now makes his home in Oregon.

Debbie Sporcich - Athlete

Pasco's Debbie Sporcich is one of the best women's basketball players ever to come from Central Washington. Her stellar career included being named as a USA Today honorable mention All-American as a Pasco Bulldog, a member of the Pac-10's Team of the Decade (1990's) at the University of Oregon, and several stints playing professionally overseas and for the Seattle Reign.

Though a standout basketball player, Debbie received nine varsity letters while at Pasco. Away from the basketball court, Debbie found time to excel at volleyball, softball and golf. But basketball was where she shined, averaging 18.9 points and 12.4 rebounds in her senior year. Her success at Pasco attracted the attention of the University of Oregon, where Debbie signed to play in 1990. Debbie made an immediate impact her freshman year, becoming the first freshman to lead the Ducks in scoring since 1977 as well as the first rebounding pacesetter since 1979.  Her four years at Oregon were very productive, as she was consistently among the Pac-10 leaders in both scoring and rebounding.

After graduating from Oregon (with a double major), Debbie played professionally for four years, making stops in Belgium, Italy and Spain. She also spent one season "back at home" playing for the Seattle Reign. Debbie is a member of both the Pasco High and University of Oregon Halls of Fame.

Moses Lake High School Wrestling Program

Rarely in high school sports has a school dominated a sport like the Moses Lake High School wrestling teams. Since the sport was first offered in the 1950's, MLHS was honored for having won the most State titles with 17 championships and eleven runner-up spots - a remarkable feat in any sport at any level. Of the 17 state championships, seven were won when there was no classifications based on enrollment. MLHS also owns eleven state championship records, including highest team score in both 3A and 4A classifications. The team's record speaks for itself, but the tradition and family feeling associated with the team is what truly marks a great program.

The Chiefs have had great coaches and teachers who not only created stability through their longevity, but also have kept the tradition and honor alive in our youth. The Chiefs have just hired their sixth wrestling coach in Moses Lake HS history, Jamie Wise, who himself is a 3-time State Champion for the Chiefs. All MLHS coaches, except Wise and last year's coach Nathan Stanley, are in the Washington State Wrestling Coaches Hall of Fame. Chief Wrestling founder Eric Beardsley, one-year interim coach Lyle Pugh, Gary Frey, Dick Deane and Ron Seibel are all members of this fraternity.

You can see the tradition continue on any given winter night in our wrestling room. The current wrestling facility was constructed by the Moses Lake Wrestling Booster Club in 1987. It is sometimes referred to as the "Seibadome", Coach Seibel and his volunteer crew raised all the money for the facility and built it to the School District's specifications. On any given night there might be four or five ex-State Champs back in the wrestling room to visit with the new Chiefs or show them technique. This is a room built by volunteers with private donations because they cared about the program and knew the future champions needed a place to be successful. They also wanted a safe place to work-out and not risk unnecessary injuries as they shared the gym with the basketball team. One of the walls of the room lists all 207 State placers and the team's places including 17 titles, 10 seconds, and 46 total top ten finishes in 52 years of the State Tournament. When the Mat Muscle youth program kids come to that room, they stare at that "wall" and say "There's my dad's name," or "I'm gonna be on that wall some day."  They wear little maroon singlets and aspire to wear a Chief singlet some day. With only six coaches and a family atmosphere, the Chief's wrestling singlets have'nt changed much over time. This tradition marks the history and legacy that MLHS wrestlers bring to the mat for each bout.

Always known for their sportsmanship on the mat, Moses Lake High School has produced high quality young men, who have not only excelled on the mat, but have gone on to great things in their careers and communities as well.